David Crowder: A Humble Heart

Several years ago, I struggled with the need to ‘do’ something that I felt was my own personal little ministry—something that flowed from my heart as a result of my love for God.  After a few attempts, and consequent failures, I stumbled upon something that has peacefully settled in my soul.  Three words sum it up … prayer, encouragement and writing.  What does this have to do with David Crowder?  I’m glad you asked and I’ll happily tell you.

One of those failed attempts I just mentioned happened about three years ago.  Without going into the boring details, I can tell you this.  The project I was working on was a video that involved reaching out to well known Christians in the music industry.  You may now interject the statement “naïve” and you would be absolutely correct.  You don’t just drop so-n-so an email and ask for their free help on something and expect to get a reply.  That is unless, of course, that person is David Crowder.  Out of at least a dozen people that I contacted with that level of popularity, only he replied.  And he replied with an affirmative that he would help.

Now I could have expected this would have been a once-in-a-lifetime stroke of good fortune, but I’m here to say that’s not the case.  What I found in D C was a kind and gentle nature, a lack of pride and arrogance, courteous and respectful, never considering himself above anyone … hey, wait a minute!  I’ve just described, basically, the definition of ‘humble’.  And humble is something most people try to be, and some people just are.  The difference between the two is almost always easy to spot.

Over the few years I’ve been writing David, he has remained the same.  Always willing to listen to an idea and readily offer help and/or encouragement. He remains steadfast in keeping his feet grounded on the Rock and not in the world.  One thing that seems absolutely apparent is that he is moved and blessed in the knowledge that there are people praying for him.  It’s something that I can’t imagine he takes for granted. 

One thing that I often notice in scripture is the nature of Paul the Apostle.  No, not the staunch, hard line, black and white theologian side of Paul, but the side of Paul who always opened his letters to the churches, or the young leaders of the church,  with a positive affirmation of how much they encouraged him and he tried to encourage them in return.   It may not seem correct in applying a comparison of David to Paul, but I do see some similarities.  Paul’s heart was always one of encouragement and joy … dare I say, so is David’s. 

It is my goal to keep reaching out to many with prayer and words of encouragement for this is a joy that is as great to give as it is to receive.  And for as long as I feel there’s something to say, I’ll keep writing about it, too.  A big thank you to David for keeping it real and for touching lives with the gifts God has given you. Because of that, you’ve encouraged me to keep encouraging. Through prayer may you always be focused on Him, assured of the path, and joyful in His promises! 

We always pray for you, and we give thanks to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. For we have heard of your faith in Christ Jesus and your love for all of God’s people, which come from your confident hope of what God has reserved for you in heaven. You have had this expectation ever since you first heard the truth of the Good News.  Col 1:3-5 NLT

About Rose M

God first, always. Husband, family and all else a blessing, even the Lupus.
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

