Truth. A Christian’s love language.

It occurred to me, following an earlier post about accountability, that there are many facets of a Christian’s language.  The next one I would like to talk about is truth.  If I had any inclinations that it was going to be easy to uphold my New Year’s resolution of speaking lovingly and honestly about my faith—speaking truth, God’s truth put forth in His word—well then I was even more naive then I thought.

The journey continues and God is showing me some very interesting things … mostly about myself.  Funny how that works.   When Jesus was asked about what the greatest command was, He first replied about loving God with “all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind’ Matthew 22:36 (NLT), but He then follows it with, “A second is equally important. Love your neighbor as yourself.  The entire law and all the demands of the prophets are based on these two commandments.” Matthew 22:39-40.  Wow … if one is as equally important, than with ‘all my heart, soul and mind’ is going to have to be a lifelong work of the Holy Spirit in me.  And, He says I’m to love everyone like that?

I must be honest that I have found this command to love, one of the hardest commands to follow.  It’s easy to love my family and friends, but not so much people who are enemies to God.  Those who revile Him, mock Him, simply don’t even believe in Him [their Creator].  I understand that once I was that person yet He loved me enough to save me.  No, not AFTER I loved Him but before I loved Him.  “We love because he first loved us.” 1 John 4:19 (NIV)  Well, back to truth and its meaning of a Christian’s love language.

Having love for one another, including those who hate you or mock you or revile you, is what brings you to a point where you don’t want to see them lost.  Oh sure … it’s easy enough to want my family, friends and loved ones not to be lost, but I don’t want anyone to be lost.  And the best way to save a lost sinner while yet in their sins is to tell them the truth.  This is love language.  Many will argue that it’s my truth and not necessarily the truth.  To this, I try to point out as gently and lovingly as I can that the alternative to their truth of no truth (humanism) is God’s judgment and wrath that they will suffer when gone from this wisp of a lifetime.  And they will suffer for all eternity.   I love them that much that I don’t want them to experience that.  I want them to experience the love, peace, joy, hope and all good things that are given to those who truly believe.

So, since I’ve been imploring people via social media—as I had set forth to do in my New Year’s resolution—it isn’t going over very well.  Quite honestly, I didn’t expect it to.  But it’s a work of the Holy Spirit.  I cannot prepare a man’s heart to receive God’s truth but the Holy Spirit can.  I cannot make anyone believe God’s truth, but the Holy Spirit can.  I cannot bring about a transformation in a person’s life, but the Holy Spirit can.  I am only called upon to love them enough to share the truth.  Whether they receive or reject it … that’s between them and God.  It is more important for me to be obedient to what God calls me to do for, you see, that’s what I’ll have to give an account for.  Was I obedient or did I shy away from telling people the truth because I was more worried about offending and less worried about loving?  As I said earlier, God is showing me much about me and my weakness in this area.

Long after this year comes and goes, I will still be proclaiming THE truth to those that have not believed on the Lord, Jesus Christ as the Savior who shed His blood and died on a cross, suffered the wrath of God which we deserved, paid the sacrificial price for all mankind, then three days later, God the Father raised Him from the dead and He [Jesus Christ] now sits at the right hand of God interceding for the elect.  But just like the commercial says, “BUT WAIT! THERE’S MORE!”  He didn’t just leave it at that.  He gave us His Holy Spirit—the comforter, counselor and advocate.  And so much more!  This is the truth I wish all to know.  There is eternal life with God in a heaven that is described in Revelation 21 and 22.

Truth … it must be proclaimed, it must be heard, and it must be received.  So, if I see you post something on a social media site that mocks, reviles, or insults the goodness and love of your God, creator … know this.  I care about you so much so that I want you to know the Word of eternal life, not eternal penalty.  That is a Christian’s love language.

About Rose M

God first, always. Husband, family and all else a blessing, even the Lupus.
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

