The Secret Life of Mrs. Beatrice N. Abubble

I first met Mrs. Abubble nearly ten years ago.  We were introduced quite by accident by a mutual friend.  I can tell you this with all honesty.  I didn’t really care for her when I first met her and I ashamedly admit that now.  It was her quiet countenance that turned me off, simply because of two main things.   First, that very nature was so opposite of mine.  Second, I don’t like people that seem to be hiding something and, Mrs. Abubbble seemed to be hiding something indeed.

Bea, as she came to be known over the years, was the type of person you had to let grow on you.  And grow she did, at least on me.  As is usually the case, I had mistaken her demeanor and dismissed that which I simply didn’t understand.  As time went by and we were in contact with each other more and more often, I came to see that I had been just like many others who did just as I had—misjudged a dear lady who wanted nothing more than to share what was important in her life–at least with those who took the time and effort to get to know her.  Countless many came and went and sadly, it was a loss for both.

Bea was really a kindhearted woman who had been dealt a bad hand, so they say in the world of poker.  But, she learned that, in life, you play the hand you’re dealt by making the most of it.  Sometimes you win, sometimes you lose, but you always keep playing.  Such was life for Mrs. Bea N. Abubble.  She took what was given her, thanked her heavenly Father for each and every blessing that He sent her way, and tried her very best to live the life carved out for her.

Bea had a passion that only a few people really knew about.  It was this passion that taught me one of the most valuable lessons I have ever learned.  Bea spent a good part of her waking hours alone, and in prayer.  Life may not have been one big social circle for her but life never stopped bringing people her way and it always seemed that those people had one thing in common.  They all needed prayer for one thing or another.  Not everyone asked her for it, but they got it anyway.  She loves to pray!  There’s not been a time of difficulty in my life when Bea wasn’t on her knees in prayer for me.  When there was something good to report, it got equal time on the floor, only in thanks to the God who hears and answers prayer.  There was something about seeing this woman living a life of little earthly joy light up at the opportunity to take a care or concern to God in prayer.  She never needed a closet for her house was her chapel.

I once asked Bea if she had any dreams or aspirations in life that went unfulfilled.   With a smile on her face, she did indeed confide in me that which she longed for before her time here on earth comes to an end.  I’m sworn to secrecy until she passes but I can tell you this, dreams can, and do, come true and there’s nothing wrong with having a bucket list.  I’ve actually seen hers and there are only two things left on it.  I’ve joined her in prayer hoping that she’ll actually get to live out those two remaining dreams.  She has taught me that important lesson … never stop dreaming for God is the one behind the inspiration and, never let a good imagination go to waste.

I’m not really sure why I decided to write about Mrs. Beatrice N. Abubble today other than she’s been on my mind a lot lately.  I’m grateful that I’ve gotten to know this person and to learn from her.  I certainly believe that there was a divine purpose behind my chance meeting with her.  There are people that come into our lives that make a major impact.  I’ve not had too many but I can say that she has been one of the most remarkable ones.  I guess my purpose in this blog is to share a couple of things.  First, never be quick to judge someone simply because they’re ‘not like you’.  Second, there are valuable lessons to be gained from just about everyone and some are pure nuggets of gold to be treasured.  Third, and finally, life may not be what you want it to be but it is what it’s supposed to be.  Learn from Mrs. Abubble, everyone is someone in need, in one way or another.  Give it to God and give Him the glory.  You’re never really alone in life because God is always there to listen.

About Rose M

God first, always. Husband, family and all else a blessing, even the Lupus.
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Secret Life of Mrs. Beatrice N. Abubble

  1. Wes Samsel says:

    Rose, you’ve done it again. I start to read your stories and can not stop, no mater how busy I think that I am, untill the story ends and I sit here with a big smile on my face because the story has touched my heart. You have a gift for writing.

Leave a Reply

