“You don’t choose a life, you live one!” Great line … but is it biblical?

For the past several months, I’ve been following the timeline releases and reviews of a movie soon to open here in the states. The movie is THE WAY, written and directed by actor Emilio Estevez, starring himself and his father, Martin Sheen.

As part of the trailer on the web site for the movie, a certain line is spoken that has struck me with great intensity. The line spoken is by the character played by Emilio Estevez to his father character, and real-life father, Martin Sheen. In replying to a comment his father makes to him in the movie, Emilio turns to his dad and says, “You don’t choose a life, Dad, you live one.” Wow. Is that good or what? In all fairness, both trailers that I’ve seen for the movie are excellent. Rich in scenery, interesting character introductions and a storyline that is poignant and inspirational; a movie that makes an important point and its family friendly to boot!

Okay, now I know that sounded more like a movie review but that certainly wasn’t my intention. My intention was to draw out that one line that encouraged my heart and has continued to do so since the first time I heard it. Admittedly, I use it just about everywhere on my signature line, always giving credit to its originator. Hmm, maybe I should question if I owe EE some royalties? The statement catches my attention because it speaks volumes for what I am now experiencing. Is this all there is to my life?

While I do love that line from the movie, I must be careful to not let man’s word, no matter how inspirational, mean more to me than God’s own word. Sensing that this line about ‘living a life’ seemed almost ethereal, I decided to see if I could find scriptures that correspond to a human interpretation of the line. This now has me on a quest so I pull out my trusty, phone book sized, concordance. “Live, lives, life, choose, chooses.” Hmm … the bible does indeed have a lot to say about all of those things. In yielding to the fact that this is a short article, and not a literary work of epic proportions, I’m going to quote four scriptures that seem to support my theory. All are from the New International Version (NIV).

• “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jer 29:11

• “I will lead the blind by ways they have not known, along unfamiliar paths I will guide them; I will turn the darkness into light before them and make the rough places smooth. These are the things I will do; I will not forsake them.” Isa 42:16

• “…being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” Phil 1:6

• For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do. Eph 2:9-11

One of the main reasons I chose those particular passages is because they each emphasize the point that our lives, as Christians, are in God’s hands. He has the plans, He will lead, He will bring all to completion, and He has prepared our work in advance. In comparing that to this line from the movie THE WAY, we do live a life. A life that rests in the acceptance and knowledge that God has already chosen it for us. While that may sound foreboding or binding, it’s not. It’s freedom!

In retooling things for the release of the movie THE WAY in the states this fall, Emilio Estevez has picked a new slogan, now being used for the purpose of advertising. It goes like this, ‘Life is too big to walk it alone’. In a recent conversation that I had with Emilio on July 29, 2011, I asked him about the reason for using that slogan as opposed to the line that had previously been emphasized … You don’t choose a life, you live one. This is what Emilio had to say to me on the subject, “The tag line: ‘life is too big to walk it alone’ refers not only to being w/others, but walking w/God.” Okay, now I’m just pleased as punch that both lines correlate to what we’ve already been told by God, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” Heb 13:5

So, is using a line such as, ‘You don’t choose a life, you live one.’ biblically correct? I believe that it is and will have no problem feeling free to explain why that line touches my heart and soul. Having done my homework, I now plan to move forward and do, not only what part of the movie teaches but, more importantly, what God teaches me. Live my life to the fullest, taking each step on the path He’s chosen for me.


Note: Written permission to quote by Emilio Estevez, Thursday, August 25, 2011.

About Rose M

God first, always. Husband, family and all else a blessing, even the Lupus.
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “You don’t choose a life, you live one!” Great line … but is it biblical?

  1. Pingback: Living with vision, part 2: rewrite | flame

  2. wonderful post, Rose! Thanks for your very good, and Biblical thoughts. Just one question, though….How did you get a personal conversation with Emilio Estevez? Very cool!

    • Rose M says:

      In all this time that I’ve had the post up, no one has caught that and asked me that. It is indeed cool because it was through prayer that I developed conversations with him via email and his FB page for the movie he was doing. I actually ‘found’ him because I was praying heavily for his brother during that time (now so infamous). I wrote to EE and told him I was keeping his brother in prayer and he replied. Thus started conversations now well over a year old. He asked me to keep his [then] new movie endeavor (a family friendly film called The Way) in prayer. It’s been my pleasure to be able to keep him in prayer for other things as well and now for another movie in the works. If interested, read my blog here called ‘A Different Kind of Campaign’. Sorry …. man, that was a really long reply to your kind comment. TY 🙂

  3. JayLynne Travers says:

    What makes the statement so powerful is that it doesn’t matter if it is biblically justified or not. The point is simple: find the freedom within you to live your life to the fullest potential. For those who seek the validation of a deity-baased belief system, the fact that your scripture supports the concept is wonderful, but each human is capable of seeking their own source of happiness and joy and are not absolutely dependent on the sanctification of faith… each person has the capacity to live their life fully with or without the permission fo any religious tome.

    • Rose Michels says:

      I thank you for taking the time to read the blog, JayLynne. I also thank you for taking the time to leave a reply.

      As you can guess, you stumbled upon a blog that is my attempt to journal my journey of faith on the ‘narrow road’. That’s why it was important for me to reply to this statement of Emilio’s from a biblical approach. For me, I am ” absolutely dependent on the sanctification of faith”. That’s my life in it’s fullness.

      Thank you again. May God show you His goodness and mercy always.

  4. barry kilpatrick. says:

    watched the movie trailer just now……..before i came to your response. I typed it in onto google not knowing what i would find but new that the line impacted me as well, and though….”can I use this as a line that would bring me encouragement in my own life, or is it another worldly slogan telling me the world is all mine and I should take it while i can.

    Thank you for your research and time. This helps me

  5. Barb Maurice says:

    Very nice, Rose.

Leave a Reply

