GUILT DOESN’T WORK WITH ME!

Blogging can take on so many different forms. Each one is left up to the author and it’s their decision as to the content and, perhaps more importantly, just how it comes across to whomever may happen upon it. Some write with a single purpose such as entertainment/movies, music, etc., some with multi-interests and talents and then some as simply a venue to speak about life’s experiences. While I’m not sure which category I fall into, I do know that picking and choosing the subject matter is the best part. Today, I’m going to stray from my previous formats and talk about something that truly troubles me and I am compelled to address the subject. Spoiler alert or warning, whatever you want to call it, this is about God, illness, prayer and guilt. If any of that does not pique your interest, feel free to skip right past this blog.

It’s been written in my previous blogs about my chronic illness. I don’t want to use up too much space here to go into the specifics of this disease but rather let it be the sub-context of why I’m writing. It’s been, to date, an eight year battle for me. Long for some, short for others who are dealing with the exact complexities of this condition. What I’d much rather talk about in this blog is how this illness jives with my faith.

When I first became ill all those years ago, I prayed. I mean I prayed hard! At that time I thought it was just something I came down with and would get through it, kind of like a very bad flu. When the normal period of time for a flu to come and go, came and went, I continued to pray as I sought out answers in the medical community. After all, God does indeed choose to use the knowledge of medical professionals to bless us during these times. Weeks became months and months became years. After three years, a diagnosis of Lupus (latin for wolf) was given. Rarely does a diagnosis like that come by itself. I won’t bore you with the myriad of other sub-illnesses that are a direct result of the big one. Please keep in mind, all the while I continued to pray. Others continued to pray for me. Family, friends and loved ones as well as support groups rallied around keeping me lifted in prayer.

What most baffled me was ‘why’? No, not the, “Why me?” type of why because I am a strong proponent of the, “Why NOT me?” question. Rather, why was God not answering my prayer for healing? Why was He not answering the prayers of others for me to be healed? I’ve walked with the Lord long enough to know that God answers prayers in many different ways. I also know that God allows things in our lives for many different reasons as well. There’s always an answer though one may never be revealed. Having said all that, God did indeed faithfully answer my prayer … only not exactly as I wanted, but He did answer me and I accepted His word for me and was at peace.

You see, some are never healed of their illness and for a very good reason. God’s reason, not mans. What I didn’t fully understand at the time, He made abundantly clear as time went on. I could continue to pray to my heart’s content for God to take this away but He would not do so at this time and maybe never would. He had a mightier plan in store for me and it required His strength and not my own. Through this revelation, I was drawn to the Apostle Paul who also endured a chronic illness and for a purpose. While I would never claim to be a theologian, and certainly would never claim to be a ‘Paul’, I now understood what he meant when he spoke about his sufferings in 2 Corinthians 12:5-10. No, I have not been swept up into the heavens and given revelation far beyond man’s understanding and thus need to be kept from becoming conceited. Paul’s main point that he wished man to understand was his last statement there, “For when I am weak, then I am strong”. God’s strength, not his own. He knew that no matter what he set about to do according to God’s will, it could only be done by God’s strength and people who saw him and his infirmity would see this in an obvious way.

Because I have come to accept that God has allowed this in my life, I can honestly say with a full heart that it has been a blessing to me, not a burden. Do I want it to go away? Absolutely! Will it? Not until God has used it up to fulfill His purpose in my life. I have walked in the shoes of others that I would have otherwise ignored. I have comforted those who are only starting out on the same journey because I can compassionately NOW say, “I know exactly how you feel!” I have reached out to those who need prayer because I believe with all my heart that God does still hear and answer prayer but only according to HIS will, not mine. Through the knowledge I now have, I can help others to a degree I never could have before had I not been allowed this affliction. Am I boasting? I hope so. Like Paul, I will declare, “Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” 2 Corinthians 12:9b NIV

Now about guilt, I will say to you what I have said to my children since they were at an early enough age to understand, “Guilt doesn’t work with me … unless it’s from God!” I have had it up to HERE (now raising my hand to the top of my head) with Christians and non-Christians who bombard me, and innocent others, with the ‘name it/claim it’ or ‘blab it/grab it’ doctrine of their faith that says just have enough faith or just believe and receive the blessing of healing that God has waiting to pour out for you. “If after doing that”, they say, “you are not healed, well then obviously it’s sin, or lack of faith or the inability to truly believe He can do it.” I do believe in healing and I do believe in Jesus sitting at the right hand of God interceding for me and all those that cry out to Him. But I do know that God does not, I repeat, DOES NOT heal everyone. And when He does not, it’s for a reason and what a Christian should do is ask, seek and knock until God reveals His answer. If you know in your heart that God has placed this trial in your life for a reason then it would serve you, and I, well to heed exactly what He is telling us. I ask, “Where are the sermons on this?! Where are all the radio or televangelists speaking this truth?!” God’s word spends much time speaking of suffering for His glory so why are we not hearing this message?

To those that feel that it is always a matter of lack of faith or lack of belief or lack of trust, may I ask you this? Would you stand in front of the Apostle Paul and tell him to ‘Just believe’? Would you stand in front of Job, a righteous man of God, and say, “Have faith”? I think not. Who am I to mock God by disregarding His purposes for my life? I will give Him glory in all things because it’s only because of Him that I can do anything. If I touch but one life, if I pass on but one legacy, if I but achieve anything in this life it will be not just FOR God’s glory, but BECAUSE of it.

Keep on preaching the truth of God’s word. I implore you though to remember to preach the whole truth. God can heal but God does not always heal. For those bearing up under man’s guilt placed on your shoulders, if it’s a matter of faith, a matter of belief or trust, well then have faith, belief and trust that God hears your prayer (“The Lord has heard my cry for mercy; the Lord accepts my prayer.” Psalm 6:9 NIV) and answers your prayer in His time and according to His will (“Call to me and I will tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.” Jeremiah 33:3). Of this you may have full assurance. I don’t know where you’re at in your journey but I walk each and every day side by side with my Lord Jesus, “being confident of this, that he who began a good work in ME will carry it on to completion”. If that means doing His work while dealing with illness day in and day out well, PRAISE GOD! No one will be able to say it was anything other than through God’s strength and not mine!

About Rose M

God first, always. Husband, family and all else a blessing, even the Lupus.
This entry was posted in blog. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to GUILT DOESN’T WORK WITH ME!

  1. Pingback: Soon It Will All Be Used Up « Rose Michels – A pilgrim on the narrow path.

  2. Lisa says:

    I know this is nearly a year later, but have just read your blog & love this. I struggle with the same thing, not because I am unwell, but because I want people to be well. I don’t believe God puts sickness on anyone, but it is obvious that he allows it to stay sometimes. I do believe that the lack of faith is not atributable to one individual but the collective body of Christ (in the west at least) & I thank you for the encouragement to see God as he always has been despite our circumstances. God, please forgive those who make the simple gospel too simplistic or too complicated. Bless you Rose.

  3. MartiJ says:

    Wow. Thank you for posting what I believe with my whole heart. I needed reminded of this today. Thank you.

  4. Thank you, Carolyn and Juanita, for being such encouraging people. You just can't imagine how much it's appreciated!Rick…thank you. I absolutely adore Twila Paris' music. That song is so fitting. I'm so glad you posted it.

  5. Rick says:

    Thank you for this torn embedded in my fleshI can feel the mystery, my spirit is made freshYou are sovereign still and forever wiseI can see the miracle opening my eyesTo a proud heart so quick to judgeLaying down crosses and carrying grudgesThe veil has been tornAnd I thank you for this thornThank you for this thorn fellowship of painTeaching me to know you more never to complainThank You for this love planted in my sideFaithful patient miracle opening my eyesI never thought I'd say it without reservationBut I am truly grateful for this piercing revelationOf a proud heart so quick to judgeLaying down crosses and carrying grudgesThe veil has been tornAnd I thank you for this thornAnd if You chose to take it, I will praise YouAnd thank You for the healing in Your nameBut if it must remain, I thank You for Your rodEvidence of Father-love for a child of GodI join You in sorrowSo much less than You have borneAnd I thank you, really I thank YouLord I thank You, I thank You for this thorn(Twila Paris)

  6. Juanita says:

    Wonderful blog post, Rose! Thank you for sharing your spiritual journey with us. You lift my heart.And may I say… it can be just as baffling when God says yes. *smile*Ultimately, it's as you've said here, Keep your eyes upon God and trust that whichever road He has you on, that's the best place for us to be.

  7. Carolyn says:

    Oh Rose – I couldn't agree with you MORE! As you said so eloquently, diseases and illnesses – chronic and otherwise – have NOTHING to do with belief in God! For example – consider Paul – the author of many of the Books within the New Testament. He prayed to be free from HIS afflictions and those prayers of his were NOT answered.BUT, Rose dear, like Paul, God has chosen to use YOU as an example of spreading His word through those with afflictions.THANKS for your honesty and convictions, and your willingness to share with others in your blog.Blessings to you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

