LET’S SEE WHAT’S BEHIND DOOR #1

At the time of my writing this blog, our country has experienced a lot of devastation. This spring has brought with it many tornadoes, floods and fires. I don’t open with that to say that this blog is about changes in our eco system or God’s wrath upon mankind or any such grandiose topic. I open with that line because anything I write about myself pales in comparison to the trials and tribulations that so many are suffering right now as a result of such hardships. Keeping that in mind helps me to put my life into proper perspective. Perhaps it can help you, too.

For several weeks now things have not been going well. I have to preface that by saying, outwardly, things are just fine. I have the most loving husband, wonderful girls, fantastic grandkids and, in August, will actually become a Great Nana. I have my home, we have our income, and my health has not worsened. I am blessed in so many ways that I couldn’t even begin to put it all down on paper, blog or journal. My having said that though, something very odd is afoot. THAT’s what I wanted to blog about. This blog is about the bizarre happenings in my life and the two possible reasons for what is going on.

I use the word bizarre because truly there is no other word that would explain events that come up out of nowhere with seemingly no explanation, catch you off guard and leave you scratching your head in bewilderment. It would be okay if it was just a one-time thing but, no, it’s happened over and over again. Without going into too much detail about all of the events, suffice it to say that I’m currently not a very popular person with a number of people. Not that I seek popularity, but I certainly don’t seek to offend or drive anyone away. I have had people assail me verbally, turn their backs on me, betray me, ignore me, reject me…the list just keeps going on. All in the span of a very short time…BAM, BAM, BAM! My head has truly been spinning and leaving me with one major question. No, I’m sorry, make that two major questions. First, “What the heck did I do?” and second, “What the heck is going on?”

The first question is the logical first step to take. I question myself as to what am I possibly doing that is making people act in such a way toward me? To behave so angrily and bitterly rather than calmly discuss their thoughts on things has really puzzled me. So, I do what I always try to do. Go to the one person that can answer that question. I go before my God, my Lord and Savior and ask Him, “What did I do? Is this from you and you’re trying to show me something that needs corrected in my life?” I prayerfully go before Him and ask Him to open my eyes to any offense I may have given, even if done so unintentionally. I ask for forgiveness for anything that I have done that was out of His will and I accept any correction He is trying to give me. Then I wait. I dive into His word, and I pray and wait for Him to give me some kind of illumination.

The second question goes hand-in-hand with the first because, naturally, if the cause isn’t behind ‘door #1’ (forgive the pun), perhaps it’s behind door #2. Door #2 would be, that the things that are happening are not from God but, do a one/eighty and you’ll find the source. Perhaps, just perhaps, it’s because of what I AM doing that evil desires to stop me in any way he can. Be it through distractions, disillusionment, discouragement, or any other D word…he’ll use whatever it takes to get your mind off the game, so to speak. It can also explain, as does question #1, why such odd things are going on. When one is dealing with bizarre happenings at every turn, it’s easy enough to stop what I’m doing and sit down and have myself one big old pity party. No, that’s not what we’re called to do. We’re called to put on the armor of God (Eph 6:11) and do battle.

Perhaps there’s a question #3 or door #3 that I haven’t considered. I’ve talked at length about this with my husband but we haven’t been able to come up with another reason or solution. My time spent in prayer and in God’s word has yet to render me an answer to either question. I continue to ask for forgiveness if I have gone outside His will and have asked for direction to return to a right path. I have also ramped up my efforts to do what He has shown me to do and that’s pray. Pray for the prayer requests, pray for those that are suffering at the hands of drugs and alcohol, or betrayal, or illnesses, or simply for covering what they are doing that IS in God’s will for their lives. Does that make the evil one unhappy? I’m quite sure of it! So the armor is on and I’m ready for battle.

Regardless of question one or question two, the answer still remains with the One and only person who sits at the right hand of God interceding on my behalf (Rom 8:34). I would encourage you today, if you’re going through a time of trials and tribulations, take heart. Jesus himself went through the same trials and tribulations and came out warning us that we, too, would experience this (John 15:20). Are these things good things? I think so. No, they’re not pleasant to experience but they do serve to get us up and moving in the direction to deal with it. CORRECT IT OR BATTLE IT! And when you feel like that pity-party is lookin’ pretty darn good, well, you just think about all those people I mentioned in the first paragraph of this blog. You think you’ve got it rough??? Get your focus off of self and onto others who have had their lives ripped to pieces. My woes do indeed pale in comparison.

About Rose M

God first, always. Husband, family and all else a blessing, even the Lupus.
This entry was posted in blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

