Wow … this is me!

I know that what I’ve experienced isn’t new. There have been times in my life, and probably yours as well, where a song has come along that has spelled out in lyrics almost exactly who and what you are. I can blog all I want about the subject but many times lyrics can more adequately, and more eloquently, speak the essence of what lies deep within my heart. That which I am unable to convey.

I first heard this song about six weeks ago and about fell off my chair when I heard it. Oh, if only my husband would have been there at that exact moment. I wanted to yell, “This is it. This is exactly what I’ve been trying to describe to you. What I’ve been going through.” Sadly, he was not but the happiness I felt was exhilarating. Mostly because I didn’t feel so alone. Someone, somewhere, knows, and is, going through what I am!

I’ll break it down because each verse are words that simply jump out at me each and every time I hear it:

You say that the well’s run dry,
and there’s no more tears to cry.
You’re searching for something real,
to make you feel.

You know that you’re incomplete,
a song with a broken beat.
There’s a hole in all our hearts,
and there’s a reason why!

These two verses alone speak of a hunger and thirst that comes from within yet seems to be unexplainable. A searching of the heart, a searching of life, an incompleteness that can be so intensified that we lose sight of who and what we are. More importantly, who we belong to.

The hunger you feel inside,
that keeps you unsatisfied,
it pulls at you constantly,
like gravity.

This world never was enough,
we’re made for a deeper love.
There’s a hole in all our hearts,
it’s part of our design.

Never were truer words spoken than this. It is a hunger. It is a dissatisfaction that does pull at you from deep inside. Nothing seems to ever quench it, no matter what you’ve tried to do to fill the empty void in your heart. But, what rings so true for me is that, YES, it is by design. God’s design of me. But why?

We were born to be,
a part of something holy.
All of us are restless ‘til we find,
we were born to be,
a part of something holy.
Bigger than, bigger than, bigger than
you and I.
Bigger than all our lives.

There it is! Right there in the chorus. The meaning of it all. I was born with this design. I am and always will be restless in this life. God created me for something holy, something bigger than I could ever imagine. I’ve been looking at life through small lenses. The here and now. What’s my purpose? What’s the plan? I need to step out of the smallness this life brings and look at it as ‘the big picture’. Really BIG picture.

All our lives we long for something more.
The life that we were all created for.

In comes this small stanza placed there as a reminder. A reminder that I will always long for something more … exactly what God created me for. Each and every day I will have this restlessness, this hunger, this striving for a bigger and more complete picture of what life’s existence is all about. The chorus repeats it but it’s right there for me to always know … there is something bigger. And, I’m a part of it.

* * * * * * * * * *

I’ll put a link here to the song so you can listen for yourself. I’ll also put the lyrics in full. God is good … all the time!

Something Holy

You say that the well’s run dry,
and there’s no more tears to cry.
You’re searching for something real,
to make you feel.

You know that you’re incomplete,
a song with a broken beat.
There’s a hole in all our hearts,
and there’s a reason why!

We were born to be,
a part of something holy.
All of us are restless ‘til we find,
we were born to be,
a part of something holy.
Bigger than, bigger than, bigger than
you and I.
Bigger than all our lives.

The hunger you feel inside,
that keeps you unsatisfied,
it pulls at you constantly,
like gravity.

This world never was enough,
we’re made for a deeper love.
There’s a hole in all our hearts,
it’s part of our design.

We were born to be,
a part of something holy.
All of us are restless ‘til we find,
we were born to be,
a part of something holy.
Bigger than, bigger than, bigger than
you and I.
Bigger than, bigger than,
bigger than all our lives.

All our lives we long for something more.
The life that we were all created for.

We were born to be,
a part of something holy.
All of us are restless ‘til we find,
we were born to be,
a part of something holy.
Bigger than, bigger than,
bigger than you and I.
Bigger than, bigger than, bigger than
all our lives!

Bigger than, bigger than…you and I.

About Rose M

God first, always. Husband, family and all else a blessing, even the Lupus.
This entry was posted in blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

