When falling is a GOOD thing.

About two months ago, I received word from my one and only living Aunt, a wonderful 85 year old woman who suffers from advanced macular degeneration and is legally blind. She had taken a very nasty fall on a sidewalk entering her doctor’s office. She was taken to the hospital where she was treated with stitches to her face, a possible concussion and severe bruising. Fortunately, she suffered no broken bones. She sent me pictures which, as she worded it and I agree, would horrify little children on the street. She stated, “I look like Frankenstein’s monster!”

Now, when I entitled this ‘When falling is a GOOD thing.”, that might have sounded harsh but wait, for the Lord works in mysterious ways. During her stay in the emergency room following the fall, they took x-rays of her collar bones to make sure there weren’t any fractures. Days later, her doctor’s office called to say the radiologist had noticed something that ‘just happened’ to be caught in the x-ray of her upper lung lobes. A spot. A dark spot that indicated further follow-up was needed. An x-ray of the chest was done and, sure enough, there it was again.

A battery of tests ensued from more radiographic images, blood work, stress test, Pet Scan, etc.. The diagnosis…cancer. Cancer of the lung. The test indicated that, from all accounts that they can see, it seems to be localized to one area of the lung and not spread. Surgery to remove that section of the lung can be done and, ‘with luck’, nothing further should be needed.

My Aunt, a woman who relies heavily on her daily discussion with God, points out the, now, very prominent fact that had she not fallen to begin with, this would not have been discovered and might have advanced to the point where nothing could be done. Basically, a death sentence. She praises God that, even though she suffered much from the fall, it was a blessing in disguise. She has endured the awful wait for news of test results and meetings with doctors and finally a date for surgery. All with the big ‘C’ hanging over her head. What an inspiration to me she has been for surely I would not have endured it with such dignity as she has. Whether she falls to pieces in the privacy of her prayer time with the Lord, that’s between them. For me, she has been a rock. I think she has spent more time in comforting my distraught self then me, her.

The next time I hear that good things can come from bad, I will remember her experience with a fall. One that could have been devastating. Instead, it’s what was needed to discover something that would have gone unchecked and finally have ended her life. Thank you, Lord, that you use whatever means possible to bless us abundantly.

I will keep my aunt in prayer for her upcoming surgery and, if you’re reading this, please pause just a moment and say a quick prayer for her as well. Thank you…on behalf of my very gracious aunt.

About Rose M

God first, always. Husband, family and all else a blessing, even the Lupus.
This entry was posted in blog. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When falling is a GOOD thing.

  1. Rose says:

    Thanks, Feisty. Appreciate the well wishes…always!!!! 🙂

  2. Its funny how "luck" works, so to speak. As I've always tried to tell my little sister, good and bad come hand in hand and without some of the more difficult things in our lives, we would miss out on the good. In this case, the bad was the fall, and the good was the early detection. I wish her a speedy recovery, and send well wishes her way! 🙂

  3. Rose says:

    Clara…I sure have missed you. Thanks for the comment. I love her dearly but I must keep my chin up for her sake. She gets upset when I'm upset. What a peach she is! Hope all is well with you. Email me if you're up to it. Okay?

  4. Clara says:

    I have every hope going for your aunt's quick and trouble free recovery.Clara.

Leave a Reply

