Lord of the Dance

This is probably my most personal blog to date. Again, I have no large following of my blogs and, even if I did, I’d still blog this anyway simply because of it’s most whole and holy meaning to me this weekend.

If you’ve looked back on my blogs, you see that I’ve, once or twice, referred to ‘Cabin Church’. This being times at our cabin where I can honestly say I’m simply overwhelmed by the love and care my God has for me. I listen to music that uplifts my soul and I listen to teaching that touches my soul and nourishes my mind. Through it all, I’m always overwhelmed by the presence of God’s Holy Spirit. Sometimes it’s just too much and I’m brought to my knees in tears of joy!

First, I must digress back to a time of almost 25 years ago. Yes, that’s just over half my life time. Anyway, it was a time of great commitment to faith that encompassed my life then and for every moment since. It was an evening and all was quiet at home, kids in bed, hubby either at work or in bed…can’t really remember that part. What I do remember was that I was taking the opportunity of that quiet time to do some exercising in the basement where our work-out equipment was. I always listened to the radio while working out and had on my favorite Christian radio station. All of the sudden, I didn’t want to exercise, I wanted to dance. I’ve often read in the bible of ‘dancing for joy’ and even (King) David himself danced for the Lord. I was swept up in such unbelievable joy and reverence for all that God is to me that I simply started to dance. I must admit the first few minutes I felt a bit odd because we had no curtains on the windows and I thought, “What would anyone think if they saw me?” Funny…that question itself was an answer in and of itself. I wanted God to see me so it was okay. I spent the next half hour offering up praise and worship to my Lord through dance.

Fast forward to present day. I’ve never had that experience again although I know it’s common for many people to express worship this way. Not for me and that’s okay. I let God’s Holy Spirit direct my life so if I never again experienced that, it wouldn’t mean I didn’t still praise and worship my God. Having said that though, now 25 years later, it happened again. Just this past Friday night when I was at ‘Cabin Church’. As I sat alone that night listening to a wonderful Christian radio station, God’s Holy Spirit grabbed hold of me. I was to dance. Now I must admit, I argued a bit with the Holy Spirit (a thing that really is just plain silly to begin with) because I don’t dance anymore. Heaven knows (forgive the pun), my now chronically ill body doesn’t allow for such things. But, the Holy Spirit didn’t care…I was to dance before the Lord. So I did. For half an hour the most wonderful praise songs played, and I danced for my God. While a certain song came to mind, but did not play on the radio, the words kept coming to me. They were from a song I use to hear by John Fischer (written by Sydney Carter) called The Lord of the Dance. They go like this:

I danced in the morning when the world was begun
And I danced in the moon and the stars and the sun
And I came down from heaven and I danced on the earth
At Bethlehem I had my birth

Dance dance wherever you may be
For I am the Lord of the dance said He
And I’ll lead you all wherever you may be
And I’ll lead you all in the dance said He

I danced for the scribe and the Pharisee
But they wouldn’t dance and they wouldn’t follow me
I danced for the fishermen for James and John
They came with me and the dance went on

Dance dance wherever you may be
For I am the Lord of the dance said He
And I’ll lead you all wherever you may be
And I’ll lead you all in the dance said He

I danced on the Sabbath and I cured the lame
The holy people said it was a shame
They whipped and they stripped and they hung me high
And they left me there on a cross to die

I danced on a Friday when the sky turned black
It’s hard to dance with the world on your back
They buried my body and they thought I’d gone
But I am the Dance and I still go on

Dance dance wherever you may be
For I am the Lord of the dance said He
And I’ll lead you all wherever you may be
And I’ll lead you all in the dance said He

They cut me down and I leapt up high
I am the life that will never never die
I’ll live in you if you live in me
I am the Lord of the dance said He

Dance dance wherever you may be
For I am the Lord of the dance said He
And I’ll lead you all wherever you may be
And I’ll lead you all in the dance said He

I felt exhausted when done and I knew the light that would come in the hours of the morning would bring a physical price but it didn’t matter. The joy of that moment, both for me and for my God, was worth any price I might pay. God has a way of acknowledging when the Holy Spirit has moved us. For a song that I rarely … and I mean rarely ever hear, I have heard The Lord of the Dance no less than 3 times in the short time span since that night. Glorious! Whether it will be another 25 years till I dance again or be it my final dance before the Lord face-to-face, it doesn’t matter. If the Holy Spirit leads, I will follow and obey. After all, it may be the narrow path, but God assures me, it will ALWAYS be the right path.

*Note: For an inspirational version of the song, here’s a link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZsRE37jpUOw

About Rose M

God first, always. Husband, family and all else a blessing, even the Lupus.
This entry was posted in blog. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lord of the Dance

  1. Kim says:

    I love it, Rose. I also love the story of how overjoyed David was to see the return of the Ark of Covenant. His wife chastised him for dancing, since he was wearing apparently very little, maybe a loincloth, and her concern was all about appearances. "What would people think?!?" The dance wasn't for people. It was an act of Worship, something David understood.

Leave a Reply

