Tossed To and Fro … But That May Not Be A Bad Thing

One of the many things I like about the internet is YouTube.  Vimeo isn’t bad either but way more gets put on YouTube these days.  The online videos I like the most are sermon videos.  I have my favorites (pastors, preachers, teachers) and I’ll bet you do, too.  Interestingly enough, at least to me, is the wide-reaching range of people I like to listen to.  It’s sort of like being tossed to and fro, as they say, in that one day I have on my heart to listen to one, while the next day I may feel like listening to someone entirely different.  Through it all though, I can honestly say I have learned more in the last couple of years of watching sermon videos than I have in a lifetime of sitting in a pew at church.  Not that there’s anything wrong with going to church.  As a matter of fact, there’s plenty that’s right with it.  But getting phenomenal teaching online is a blessing.

Today I’d like to share some of my favorites.  Feel free to tell me yours in the comment section below.  I can’t really put these teachers in a category of say one through five, in order of popularity.  I like them all but they all have different styles.  Bottom line … they all preach the truth!

My first shout-out is to John MacArthur.  When I want sound, john macarthurexpository teaching, he’s the man!  It’s like having an audible commentary right at your ears.  I have been so blessed by the free resources he’s made available on his website, Grace To You.

Next, I have to give two thumbs up to Paul David Washer.  If Paul-Washer-2-CCyou’re looking for a reformed theology, with a hint of hellfire and brimstone, teacher he’s your go-to guy!  This man not only preaches it soundly, he bears his heart in a way that makes you break under the weight of your own sin.  Actually, that would be God doing it but using Brother Paul to speak His truth.

francis_chanTo the one man who I would most like to sit with and talk to regarding what his teaching has meant to me, it would be Francis Chan.  What I most admire about what he has to share is his love of God’s word, the Bible.  Get alone with God and in His word!  Francis’ infectious preaching makes you want to do just that.  Get in the word!  What preacher could ask for more?

Finally, nothing I write on this subject would be complete if I john-piperdidn’t round it out with John Piper.  I don’t think I listen to anyone who quite compares to the passion of Brother John!  He preaches the Word in such a way that I want to jump up and say, “Yes!” or “Amen” throughout his teaching.  He brings the Word of God to life.

Now my list is certainly not exhaustive.  You’re probably saying, “What about so-n-so?”  And you might be right.  I just wanted to share with you today some of the teachers of the Word who are blessed by God to have been given the gift of teaching/preaching and do it as if their lives depend upon it.  Because of their fervor to sharing God’s word, I have been immensely blessed.

So, share with me your thoughts.  I look forward to reading them.

About Rose M

God first, always. Husband, family and all else a blessing, even the Lupus.
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tossed To and Fro … But That May Not Be A Bad Thing

  1. You listed my top 4 favorite preachers.

  2. Cliff says:

    Great list! I’ve been studying the Bible with John Macarthur (from a distance obviously) since I was about 15. Great teacher. For me I would add, and I mean add because I love these guys you mentioned, David Platt, RC Sproul, and Ravi Zacharias. Which is not to diminish a couple of my local pastor friends – who I appreciate listening to and then talking with face to face. But I agree it is a tremendous blessing to have good teachers out there that we can listen to at will. Now if only we could get those false teachers to knock it off…

Leave a Reply

